Who Is The Presiding Officer In The House Of Representatives? (Question)

The speaker of the United States House of Representatives, commonly known as the speaker of the House, is the presiding officer of the United States House of Representatives. The office was established in 1789 by Article I, Section 2 of the U.S. Constitution.

Who is the presiding officer in the House and Senate?

The vice president of the United States serves as president of the Senate and therefore its presiding officer.

Who is the presiding officer in the upper house?

The Vice President of the United States, as provided by the United States Constitution formally presides over the upper house, the Senate.

Who are the officers in the House of Representatives?

Today, the elected House officers include the Clerk, Sergeant-at-Arms, Chaplain, and Chief Administrative Officer. Appointed officials include a Parliamentarian, Historian, General Counsel, and Inspector General. Their duties are prescribed both by law and Rule II of the Rules of the House of Representatives.

Who can be Speaker of the House of Representatives?

Having two Houses, the Parliament also has two Presiding Officers – the President of the Legislative Council and the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

You might be interested:  How To Contact Someone's Parole Officer? (Correct answer)

Who is the presiding officer of the House of Representatives quizlet?

The Speaker is the presiding officer of the House and the leader of its majority party. He/she keeps order and chairs most sessions.

Who is the presiding officer of Rajya Sabha?

The Vice President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha. The House also elects a Deputy Chairman from among its members.

Who is the presiding officer of the Lok Sabha?

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha (IAST: Lok Sabhā Adhyakṣa) is the presiding officer and the highest authority of the Lok Sabha (House of the People), the lower house of the Parliament of India. The speaker is elected generally in the first meeting of the Lok Sabha following general elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *