Which Cabinet Officer Is Responsible For Social Security? (Perfect answer)

SECRETARY OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES: He/she leads the Department of Health and Human Services which handles welfare, Medicare, Medicaid, and Social Security payments and issues.

Which Cabinet is responsible for social security?

Eisenhower abolished the Federal Security Agency and created the Department of Health, Education and Welfare (HEW). SSA was made part of this new cabinet agency. The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) replaced HEW in 1980 when the Department of Education was created as a new cabinet-level agency.

What is a Cabinet officer responsible for?

The Cabinet’s role is to advise the President on any subject he or she may require relating to the duties of each member’s respective office.

Which cabinet officer is responsible for constructing highways?

Secretary of Transportation Establishes and oversees America’s transportation system including highway planning, development, and construction; urban mass transit; railroads; aviation; and the safety of waterways, ports, highways, and oil and gas pipelines.

Which political party created Social Security?

The Social Security Act was enacted August 14, 1935. The Act was drafted during President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s first term by the President’s Committee on Economic Security, under Frances Perkins, and passed by Congress as part of the New Deal.

You might be interested:  What Is A Mortgage Loan Officer? (Question)

Who was against Social Security in 1935?

The Social Security Act of 1935 excluded from coverage about half the workers in the American economy. Among the excluded groups were agricultural and domestic workers—a large percentage of whom were African Americans.

Which cabinet officer would be responsible for enforcing US laws in federal courts?

Since the 1870 Act that established the Department of Justice as an executive department of the government of the United States, the Attorney General has guided the world’s largest law office and the central agency for enforcement of federal laws.

What are cabinet level positions?

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments — the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, as well as the

Who is responsible for appointing members of the cabinet *?

Cabinet officers are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate by a majority vote. Each official receives the title Secretary, except the Attorney General who leads the Department of Justice. Cabinet members serve at the pleasure of the President and may be dismissed at any time.

Is the cabinet part of the judicial branch?

No, members of the cabinet are part of the executive branch of government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *