Minimum Requirements to be a Police Officer in West Virginia
- Must be at least 21 years of age on date of hire.
- Must be a high school graduate or have a GED.
- Completed Basic Police Training Course.
- Completed Medical History Statement/Medical Examination Report.
- Meet physical or mental condition.
- 1 How long does it take to become a police officer in WV?
- 2 Is it really hard to become a police officer?
- 3 What are the requirements to be a cop?
- 4 What do I have to do to be a cop?
- 5 Can you become a cop at 40?
- 6 Can you be a cop and go to college?
- 7 How long do you have to train to be a police officer?
- 8 What is the oldest age to become a police officer?
- 9 How hard is the police academy?
How long does it take to become a police officer in WV?
Normally the class is held at the West Virginia State Police Academy, Institute, WV. It is approximately 15 weeks in length. After completing the academy training the officer attends Orientation Training and is placed in the Field Training Program. Age Requirements: Applicants must be 18 to 40 years of age.
Is it really hard to become a police officer?
The path to become a police officer is fairly straightforward. However, it will take dedication, stamina, and time to enter this competitive field. Beyond education and training, police departments typically require applicants to be US citizens between the ages of 21 and 37.
What are the requirements to be a cop?
WHAT ARE THE MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS?
- You must be at least 21 years old.
- You must be a citizen of the US through either naturalization or birth.
- You must have attained either your high school diploma or GED.
- You must have a valid driver’s license.
What do I have to do to be a cop?
Steps to Becoming a Police Officer
- Obtain high school diploma or GED.
- Meet other minimum requirements.
- Obtain a bachelor’s degree (optional)
- Pass the law enforcement entrance exam.
- Graduate from the police academy.
- Work toward a promotion.
- Latest Posts.
Can you become a cop at 40?
The minimum age is 18 and there is no maximum age limit for most states. People in their 50s and 60s are graduating from the Academy. As long as you can pass the recruitment process and conduct the operational requirements of the job you can apply.
Can you be a cop and go to college?
Associate Degree in Law Enforcement For police officer positions that require a college education, this is one of the most popular degree paths, and for good reason. Since the degree takes two years or less of full-time study, it’s faster and cheaper than the bachelor’s degree.
How long do you have to train to be a police officer?
Police Academy Training A high school diploma/GED and police officer training are enough to apply for jobs in many law enforcement agencies. Think of the police academy as police officer school. The standard program is 840 hours, or 21 weeks, according to the Bureau of Justice Statistics.
What is the oldest age to become a police officer?
Qualifying As An Older Rookie If you aren’t fit enough, you won’t be hired. A PD open to older cops may not set the same standards for a 50 -something as a 20-something. In Florida, for instance, a 21-year-old has to manage 40 sit-ups and 33 pushups in the fitness test, according to Tactical Functional Training.
How hard is the police academy?
Most police academies are known to be more difficult than basic training, but it can depend on where you study. Basic training teaches the core skills and knowledge to succeed in a military environment. It requires hard work and determination.